No Swearing Allowed!
4:26 p.m. - 2007-12-12

Hey, all!

Yeah, it's been a few days. Nothing much to report really. Yes, Hombre is still home. Someone asked what happened to kicking his ass out. Well, sweetie, it's not that easy.

I can tell him to go, and go, and go...tell him I don't love him, I don't want him...but he won't go. And the police will not make him leave, either. It's as much his house as it is mine. Believe me, I looked into it.

Anyways...I don't want to write about Hombre.

I've been trying my hand at writing on Helium.com. But, it turns out that they do not like any kind of profanity in their articles, which is something I failed to see in the User Agreement. So they deleted a couple of my stories. What surprised me is that on the community message boards, they were really gung-ho...high on thier horses, all of them saying that if you feel you must use profanity in your writing, then your writing is not up to par. If you are creative enough, you can come up with other words to use that can just as easily, just as powerfully get your point across.

Well the short story I wrote was based on something that actually happened to me in the fifth grade. The most popular boy asked me to be his girlfriend. I said yes, even though I had no fucking idea what the hell "boyfriend" or "girlfriend" really meant. All I knew was that if my mother ever, EVER found out that I had anything to do with boys, she would have whipped my ass.

So a few days later, this kid walks up to me while we are all in our little clique. He suddenly grabs my hand, and was standing there all smiley and shit. I freaked out, because all I could think of was that my mother was going to show up all of a sudden and catch me being a cochina girl!

Without even thinking about it, I yanked my hand out of his. OMG...if you could have seen the look on his face! He was so pissed. He looked at me with his red face, and yelled, "I don't want to hold hands with a dirty spic anyways! You might give me lice!"

The rest of us just stood there with our mouths hanging open...just shocked. The boys, his friends, were made up of my nephew, Timmy and Tommy, who were both black, and Scott, who was white. Well, ole boy was stomping away when he realized the other boys were not following him. He looked back and asked them, "What are you doing? Come on!"

At which point, my nephew started to walk towards him, stopped and said, "Man, fuck you!" He walked in the other directrion, followed by Timmy and Tommy.

OK...so I guess I could have changed his statement to, "Man, fudge you," or maybe, "Man, go copulate with yourself," or "Man, go manipulate your manhood till you ejaculate." I guess any of those remarks would have sufficed, eh?

Maybe I'll post my article here so you all can see what I wrote. I thought I had done a pretty good job, and I think that statment makes it very clear how Ray's remark affected my nephew...me, all of us!

Now I'm pissed all over again. I guess nothing makes you feel less than everyone else, makes you feel like you don't know proper english, like you're just playing at something that you don't understand, than a bunch of people telling you that the way you talk and write is not acceptable.

What about writers who want to appeal to a younger, urban crowd. Or what if I want to appeal to a hispanic crowd, and want my dialogue to be as close to reality as possible? Is my writing under par because I'll use spanglish in my writing? Because I'll tell you what, more and more hispanic kids do not speak spanish like it's their first language. We mix it all up, and come up with something new, and different. We don't fall into some expected standard that is set by those that are different from us.

So I don't follow your rules? I don't write as clean as you think I should?

Man, go FUDGE YOURSELF!!!

AND YEAH, I TYPED IT IN ALL CAPS, TOO!

SO KISS MY GLUTEUS MAXIMUS!!!

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

i am: Insert a little mini bio of yourself here

loves: insert loves/favourite things here

hates: insert hates/dislikes here

feeling:
insert your Imood here