Getting my big butt into shape...
09:59 - 2008-01-21

Well, I had mentioned to Hombre on Saturday how I have been wanting to use the elliptical in the basement to try and workout a couple of days at home in addition to what I'm doing at work. As usual, he acted like he wasn't really paying attention, or like he was pretending to be interested in what I was saying.

He went downstairs to drink his beer, which he has cut down on drastically BTW. I could hear him sawing away and banging stuff. I figured he was bored and found something to do to keep himself busy and entertained. Like the other day, he had torn apart an old ass stereo that was down there for years. It did not work, so he figured he would tear it apart and throw it away. I guess this must be a guy thing, but he said he decided to try and remove those little things that look like small batteries from the board inside. I think they're some kind of conductors...I don't know. Anyway, he figured he would weld them off. He said he was going to start with the bigger ones, but decided instead to try one of the smaller ones. Apparently, the damn thing got so hot he said it exploded. Scared the shit out of him!! He said it sounded like a damn gunshot or a large firecracker. I couldn't believe it! He could have seriously hurt himself, and no one was home at the time. What the hell was he thinking?

Anyways, I could hear him all evening long downstairs doing shit. I was waiting for another explosion. About 11 p.m. he comes up and says, "I thought you wanted to work out on the elliptical?"

I replied, "Well, yeah, but you have your mad scientist lab going on down there. I didn't want to bother you."

"But I cleaned it for you. Just a little area, but I cleaned it so you can come down and workout."

He stood there expectantly. "Like right now?" I asked him.

"Well...no, you don't have to come down right now."

I felt bad, so I said I would go check it out. Don't you know that he cleaned the whole damn basement! He tore apart the old broken treadmill, and swept all the sawdust up, and cleared off my weight bench, and everything! I was touched that he had done all that for me...but only for a minute. You know I had to fight really hard to bite my tongue and not ruin his surprise. Because after the initial "Wow-you-did-this-for-me" reaction, I immediately thought, "Damn, he must really want me to lose weight if he did all this. He must be getting sick and tired of having a fat ass for his lady!"

OMG...it was the hardest thing not to say! I was determined to just appreciate the gesture, the hard work he did for me, because I was the one who said I wanted to start working out. He's just trying to help me help myself, right? Right????

Well, I did go down and use the elliptical on Sunday. I was only able to do it for about 17 minutes. You know what? I am feeling that shit today! My sides hurt, and my quads are sore. What really made it hard is that the bottom of my foot, I think it may be the tendons where my arch is SUPPOSED to be...starting hurting really badly during my workout. I mean they felt like they were on FIRE!!! I had to stop and try and stretch it out. But today, I'm feeling the affects of it, that's for damn sure...and I feel great!!!!

<< || >>

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ rings
+ reviews
+ book
+ notes
+ design
+ diaryland

i am: Insert a little mini bio of yourself here

loves: insert loves/favourite things here

hates: insert hates/dislikes here

feeling:
insert your Imood here